3-6-9 A Writing Task

So, the other day… at our Creative Writing class, we were given a task called 3-6-9, where we write 3 shorts in just 69 words, excluding title of course! The 3 shorts can stand as a story on its own or can be a story all together. This task was quite a challenge for me because I tend to write a lot.. of details..so here is my first attempt.

  1. Time of Sharing

I knew it wasn’t Susan’s but I opened it anyway.

“Susan, I wanted your jolly, fat, dancing Santa…!” I grumbled at the electronic car.

“Steal it from Jack!” Susan replied.

Everything was well till someone else stole the Santa from my lap at the last turn of the game and left me in tears. I never ever wanted to play that stupid White Elephant gift exchange ever!

  1. I do not like you.

All I had wished for was to get my belly pierced on my 16th birthday but mum would always give me the death stare dare I mentioned it. I was fearful of her yet I felt fearless that day. At midnight, I was sneaked out by my girls to get it pierced. That morning was a hell.

“I hate you!”, I screamed at mom and never went home.

  1. Present day, today.

I sit beside my mum’s bed, holding her hand as she slowly drifts away to a sweet dream. I whisper “I love you mum.” as the waves on the monitor slowly flattens. I examine her for the last time, the lines of her struggles that rested so beautifully on her looked more prominent.

The emptiness within disappeared because she imprinted a mark on my heart that would last forever.

6 thoughts on “3-6-9 A Writing Task

  1. Pingback: One Pineapple | The Silver Leaf Journal

  2. Pingback: Powerless Words and Broken Dreams [SHORT STORY, WRITTEN IN MULTIPLE POVs] | Ramisa the Authoress

Leave a Reply

