Kylie Lipkits Review- Mary Jo K & Candy K

Hey Lovelies!

I’m back after so long and forgive me for the lack of post. I’ve finally graduated (though not officially) from University and have already entered the working world as I’m working full-time as an English teacher!

No matter how hectic my schedule always is, I wasn’t going to give up my blog here because I love sharing my love for beauty, fashion and everything lifestyle-related with you guys!

Anyway, surprise, surprise.. I didn’t think I would jump on the bandwagon with the Kylie Lipkits but GOSH, the hype in the beauty world triggered so much curiosity that I just had to try it for myself!

img_3466

I decided to get Candy K and Mary Jo K since those colors looked the most versatile and universal that would work on many different skin tones, so of course, I played on the safer side and got more wearable colors, unlike, True Brown K or Kourt K. Besides, it’s always better to get more wearable colors if you’re gonna break your wallet so that you can actually get your money’s worth by wearing them more often!

img_3470

From the swatches you can see that Mary Jo K is a classic neutral toned red and Candy K is a pinkish//taupe nude. Though you can’t tell from the picture, I find Candy K has a cool undertone. It’s such a lovely color, but whenever I wear them, it looks almost greyish and very cool on me, perhaps it’s just the reaction with my lip color. The lip liners are more or less similar in color, except for Candy K, where the liner is more taupy.

Overall, they are beautiful colors, one that’s perfect for fancy events and the other that’s wearable for everyday!

img_3463

It comes with a standard liquid lipstick applicator that’s easy to apply and gives quite good precision to work on the lip lines.

img_3464

The liners are similar to many other brands as well in terms of its look, however, unlike some liners that are twistable, these have to be sharpened once the tip is used up. The liners run out quite quick after a generous application on the lips and as I haven’t owned a sharpener since grade school, I find sharpening it a bit annoying! From the picture, you can probably tell that I was too lazy to search for a pencil sharpener! I’m also quite certain that the sharpening process will waste some of the actual product.

img_3465

However, these are one of the best liners I’ve tried as they are very creamy and stays put throughout! It’s also a nice touch that the liners actually have its color name printed on it. Very cute!

img_3467

The liquid lipsticks are very light-weight on the lips and though its matte, it has a soft-texture finish. It feels almost powdery after it dries and you literally feel like you don’t have anything on your lips! Some people have complained that they are very drying, however, personally, I didn’t feel them to be drying at all. It doesn’t have any moisturising elements but definitely does not make my lips crack! Overall, they are very comfortable to wear!

img_3462

There has also been a lot of speculation about Kylie Lipkits being manufactured in the same place as the matte lipsticks from Colourpop. A lot of beauty bloggers have even reviewed that the Colorpop Matte lipstick in Creeper to be a dupe to Kylie’s Mary Jo K and since I have Creeper too, I had to put a side by side comparison.

img_3461

I waited for Creeper to dry to see if it would dry to the same colour but it still stayed brighter. As you can see from the swatch, Creeper is not an exact dupe as it is a much brighter red with a slight orange undertone. However, I’m sure there are many dupes that are comparable to Mary Jo K and many of the other shades!
img_3459

After all the lipsticks were fully dried, I ran my finger through the swatches and surprising Candy K in the liquid form did not budge at all! It did not move even after pressing it harder, which means that it is probably the longest wearing colour out of the three. Colourpop’s Creeper easily smudged and Mary Jo K also slightly smudged. Not that this means they are not good quality but just to check how well they would stay after touch.

img_3468

Overall, I am absolutely loving my lipkits! They are very comfortable to wear and non-drying and they last pretty long! Though, I know I can find these shades for cheaper alternatives, it’s just different when you know it’s a product that has been loved by many and that’s difficult to get hands on!

img_3467

If you’ve been contemplating whether or not to get them and you’re thinking about them for this long, you should definitely try them for yourself! And if you’re a make-up junkie like me then these will surely add some sass to your lipstick collection!

Have you tried any of the lipkits? How did you like them? I would love to hear from you if you have!

 

Xoxo,

Oddinary Girl

2 thoughts on “Kylie Lipkits Review- Mary Jo K & Candy K

  1. I like it that you’re a teacher and you’re also very stylish. It’s like you’re the other half of me(sister from another mister). I’m also a secondary school teacher,I teach French and Swahili and I looooooveee all things about beauty,fashion,makeup,fun and lifestyle!
    Keep on doing what you do!Its lovely. you’re blogs are awesome!
    xoxo!
    Racquel

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for the lovely comment! I always say life is too short to just love one thing, so I try to find the time to love my other passions too besides teaching😊 your comment really made my day as I’ve been neglecting my blog for a while.. Haha more motivated to get back to it again! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

